The Sheelagh Delaney Memorial Award

In memory of Sheelagh Delaney 1953 – 2018

The Sheelagh Delaney Memorial Award

This annual award will be presented each year at the annual club dinner.  It will be awarded to the club member who throughout the year has demonstrated any of the following characteristics;

  • Positivity in running in the face of adversity. Eg. ill health, life crises
  • Completed a race/event/challenge that was felt to be beyond their capabilities.
  • Consistently taken part in events and races on a regular basis with positive attitude, for the fun of taking part, with disregard to performance status.
  • Promoted the sport of fell running through their positive contribution to the club or to fell running scene in general. 

Sheelagh Delaney was one of the original members of the Northern Fells running Club when it was formed in 2014. She started running in Lancashire before she moved to the Lake District, where she completed several half marathons. When she moved to live in Hesket Newmarket with her partner Bill Goldsmith she started taking part in more frequent trail and fell races. She was by her own admission a “slow plodder”, and took part in events merely for fun of taking part, and for the personal achievement of finishing. Her proudest moment was finishing the Montane 50 race in 2016. Sadly Sheelagh died of renal cancer in 2018. She continued running despite her illness and the side effects of her treatment. She was an example of positivity in the face of adversity.

Previous winners:

2021: Paul Dobson

2020: Claire Dickinson

2019: Angela Wilson

2018: Kathleen Batty